Course Offer

The Centre of Sociology features a course offer of more than 30 courses (lectures, working groups, seminars, etc.), partly in cooperation with other institutes at TU Wien and beyond. Teaching focuses on social scientific, methodological and spatial knowledge and tools in architecture and planning.

The team of the Centre of Sociology is interdisciplinary and merges competences from sociology, economics, urban and spatial planning, architecture, urban studies and human geography. Cooperating with external experts and practitioners in teaching is of importance.

The main objective for undergraduate studies (bachelors) is to provide basic knowledge in our main fields of expertise and support in appropriate learning techniques. Both general introductory classes as well as specialized courses are the tools to advance this objective.

In graduate studies (masters), main goals are the provision of in-depth scientific-analytical knowledge and the subsequent independent application of the acquired knowledge. Classes follow schemes with compulsory and elective modules featuring theoretic-analytical and application-oriented content.

Teaching Goals

Teaching formats vary and reflect qualification profiles and study contents defined in the respective study programs of the bachelor’s and master’s degree programs ‘Spatial Planning’ and ‘Architecture’.

Conveying social scientific knowledge and its application forms the core of all teaching activities of the Centre of Sociology:

  • Conveying scientific techniques and methods and applying them to fields of action in planning and architecture:
    formulating questions _ defining issues _ recognizing and understanding correlations _ factual argumentation and critical thinking
  • Conveying scientific techniques and methods and applying them to fields of action in planning and architecture:
    linking theory and practice _ methodology and methods _ systematics _ presentation and communication
  • Ceveloping and furthering social and communicative competences:
    cooperation _ technical and contextual communication _ moderation and mediation _ intermediation  and conveyance

Lehrangebot

Das Lehrangebot des Fachbereichs Soziologie besteht aus über 30 Lehrveranstaltungen und -kooperationen und ist auf die Vermittlung sozialwissenschaftlicher, methodischer und sozialräumlicher Wissens- und Handlungsformen in der Raumplanung und Architektur fokussiert.

Das Team des Fachbereichs ist interdisziplinär zusammengesetzt und bündelt Kompetenzen aus der Soziologie, Ökonomie, Stadt- und Raumplanung, der Architektur, Stadtforschung und Geografie. Wann immer möglich wird mit externen Fachleuten und Praktiker_innen zusammengearbeitet.

Prinzipielle Ziele unserer Lehre insbesondere für die Bachelorstudiengänge ist neben der Vermittlung fachlicher Grundlagen und Kenntnisse das sachgerechte ‚Lernen lernen‘, das sowohl in generellen Einführungsveranstaltungen wie auch angeleiteten thematischen Lehrveranstaltungen verfolgt wird.

Prinzipielle Ziele für die Masterstudiengänge sind die Vermittlung vertieften wissenschaftlich-analytischen Wissens und die Förderung eigenständiger Anwendung, die in Pflicht- und Wahlmodulen sowie theoretischen wie auch analytisch-anwendungsorientierten Wahllehrveranstaltungen vermittelt werden.

Lehrziele

In Anlehnung an die jeweiligen Studienziele, Qualifikationsprofile und Inhalte der Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge „Raumplanung und Raumordnung“ und „Architektur“ verfolgen wir in den unterschiedlichsten Lehrformaten die Ziele

  • sozialwissenschaftliches Denken und Arbeiten für Planer_innen und Architekt_innen zu vermitteln

    Fragen stellen _ Sachverhalte definieren _ Zusammenhänge erkennen und verstehen _ sachgerecht argumentieren und kritisieren

  • wissenschaftliche Techniken und Arbeitsweisen zu vermitteln und für planerische und architektonische Handlungsfelder anwendbar zu machen

    Theorie-Praxistransfer _ Methodologie und Methoden _ Systematiken _ Darstellung und Vermittlung

  • sowie soziale und kommunikative Kompetenzen zu fördern und zu entwickeln.

    Kooperation _ Fach- und Sachkommunikation _ Moderation und Mediation _ Vermittlung und Präsentation