Mission

The center of sociology (ISRA) is the social scientific hub of the faculty of architecture and planning at Vienna University of Technology. The staff of the center of sociology consist of experts in general sociology, urban and regional sociology, geography, economics, urbanistics, as well as urban and spatial planning.

Our main focus in research and teaching is the analysis and communication of social relations on the spatial micro, meso and macro levels. For the production of space and the comprehension of that process it is a necessity to identify and if needed to influence the spatial needs of the people. A main aspect is the usage of public spaces.

Understanding the usage of space

The complex cause and effect relations of different social groups regarding the usage and production of space are grounded in the different needs and desires of those groups. Those needs and desires have to be perceived and categorized on a scientific level, so that measures and concepts can be applied on a spatial level.

Social processes are always embedded in a spatial and temporal frame of reference

In the context of the engineering focused spatial planning studies, the center of sociology is pointing out, that social processes have to be understood in their spatial and historical background. That implicates, that associated institutional and individual constellations play an important role in the production and reproduction of social space. Simultaneously architecture, landscape architecture and urban planning should not only be seen as an individual scientific and artistic product, but rather in the framework of the social context.

To understand the structures and processes of the social space, the methodological approach of the social space analysis is necessary

Social processes cannot be described in detail by official statistics. This means, that the systematic gathering of further information about the spatial figuration is needed. To fulfill this task the center of sociology uses a broad toolkit of qualitative and quantitative methods. The tasks we are facing not only require the unbiased methods of the social sciences, but also – especially in the field of architecture and planning – methods of action research, particularly participatory practices. In that context professional communication is highly relevant.

Mission

Der Fachbereich Soziologie (ISRA) ist das sozialwissenschaftliche Zentrum der Fakultät für Architektur und Raumplanung. Die Qualifikation der MitarbeiterInnen reichen von Allgemei­ner Soziologie, Stadt- und Regionalsoziologie, über Geografie und Ökonomie zur Urbanistik, Stadt- und Raumplanung.

Ziel der Forschung und Lehre ist die Analyse und Vermittlung gesellschaftlicher Zusammen­hänge auf der Mikro-, Meso- und Makro-Ebene des Raumes. Wer Raum gestalten resp. die Rahmenbedingungen für dessen Gestaltung setzen und verstehen will, muss die Standort-, Mo­bilitätsbedürfnisse der Menschen verstehen, erkennen und ggf. beeinflussen können. Dazu gehört vor allem auch die Nutzung des öffentlichen Raumes.

Raumverhalten erkennen, verstehen und einordnen

Die komplexen Ursachen-Wirkungszusammenhänge zwischen der Nutzung des Siedlungs­raumes unterschiedlicher sozialer Gruppen bringen unterschiedliche Interessen zum Aus­druck. Diese müssen wissenschaftlich basiert erkannt, expliziert und nachvollziehbar abge­wogen werden, um für die jeweiligen sozialräumlichen Einheiten maßgeschneiderte und nachhaltige Maßnahmenkonzepte anbieten und umsetzen zu können.

Gesellschaftliche Prozesse haben immer einen konkreten Raum- und Zeitbezug

Innerhalb eines ingenieurwissenschaftlich verstandenen Raumplanungs-Studiums verweist das ISRA darauf, dass soziale Prozesse immer raum- und zeitabhängig sind (im Gegensatz zu den Natur- und Technikwissenschaften). Das hat zur Folge, dass den jeweiligen institutio­nellen und individuellen Konstellationen eine besondere Bedeutung bei der Produktion und der Reproduktion des gesellschaftlichen Raumes beigemessen wird. Gleichzeitig sind Archi­tektur, Städtebau und Landschaftsplanung nicht nur als Ausdruck individueller künstlerischer Leistung zu verstehen, sondern sie sind immer wieder in den jeweiligen gesellschaftlichen Kontext einzubinden.

Um sozialräumliche Strukturen und Prozesse erkennen und einordnen zu können, bedarf es des methodischen Ansatzes der Sozialraumanalyse

Sozialräumliche Prozesse lassen sich durch die Amtliche Statistik nur unzureichend abbil­den. Es ist daher notwendig, weitere Informationen über die räumlichen Figurationen in sy­stematischer Weise zu erheben. Dazu bedient sich das ISRA einer angemessenen Kombi­nation quantitativer und qualitativer Formen empirischer Sozialforschung. Die heutigen Auf­gaben der Sozialwissenschaften lassen sich nicht auf eine wertfreie Analyse sozialräum­licher Figurationen begrenzen, sondern erfordern auch – gerade in den Zusammenhängen von Architektur, Städtebau und Raumplanung – Methoden der Aktionsforschung, allen voran partizipativen Methoden. In diesem Zusammenhang erhält eine professionelle Kommunikation eine zunehmende Bedeutung.