Research and Consulting - ISRA

Guiding principles of all research and consulting activities of the Center of Sociology (ISRA) are describing, understanding of and explaining the interplay between society and space. Emergence and change of socio-spatial and political-spatial structures and processes in different spatial entities receive equal attention as the interaction between socio-spatial and built environments. Spatial, social, political and cultural developments in cities, city regions, metro regions, and rural regions are understood as a product of macro-processes, structures, and group specific perceptions, interpretations, assessments and patterns of behavior.

Analysis and interpretation of these socio-spatial structures and processes is action-oriented. In both research and consulting activities we develop recommendations for action for a variety of actors, especially for actors in the wide field of architecture and planning. Our action orientation is reflected in the multi-faceted output of the research and consulting activities, reaching from the development to the implementation of strategies, policies and general principles for spatial planning to the development of institutional designs for planning related structures and processes. Generally, we argue for the necessity of understanding and integrating social contexts in design and use (or appropriation) of space as well as for understanding of spatial design as a social process.

Research principles follow three pillars:

  • Interdisciplinarity: project and topic related integration of different scientific disciplines (in our centre we cover: sociology, economics, urban and regional planning, human geography, ethnography)
  • Multi-methods approach: application of different qualitative and quantitative methods in social sciences and their integration in multi-methods-research designs
  • Transdisciplinarity: the starting point of our research problems and challenges of society and ‘Lebenswelt’, which are analyzed by integrating scientific and applied knowledge

Socio-spatial research of the Centre of Sociology currently focuses on the following thematic areas:

  • Social Inequality
  • Neighbourhood development
  • (Urban) Governance
  • Technics and society

Forschung und Beratung - ISRA

Grundsätzlicher Ausgangspunkt der Forschung und Beratung des Fachbereichs ist das Verstehen, Beschreiben und Erklären des Zusammenhangs zwischen Gesellschaft und Raum. Die Entstehung sowie der Wandel sozialräumlicher und raumpolitischer Strukturen und Prozessen in unterschiedlichen Raumtypen werden von uns dabei genauso in den Blick genommen wie die Wechselwirkungen zwischen sozialräumlichen Strukturen und baulich-physischen Strukturen an unterschiedlichen Orten. Räumliche, gesellschaftliche, politische und kulturelle Entwicklungen in Städten, Stadtregionen, Metropolregionen und Regionen verstehen wir als Produkt des Zusammenspiels von Makro-Prozessen und Strukturen und gruppenspezifischen Wahrnehmungen, Interpretationen, Bewertungen sowie Handlungsmustern.

Die Analyse und Bewertung dieser sozialräumlichen Strukturen und Prozesse erfolgt dabei handlungsorientiert. In der Forschung- und Beratungstätigkeit entwickeln wir Handlungsempfehlungen für unterschiedliche AkteurInnen – vor allem in den vielfältigen Handlungsfeldern räumlicher Planung und Architektur. Diese Handlungsorientierung zeigt sich am vielschichtigen Output der Forschungs- und Beratungstätigkeit, welche von der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Strategien, Leitbildern und policies der Raumentwicklung bis zur Entwicklung von institutionellen Designs für raum- und planungsbezogene Strukturen und Prozesse reicht. Grundsätzlich bemühen wir uns in und mit unserer Forschungs- und Beratungstätigkeit sowohl das Verständnis für die Notwenigkeit der Integration gesellschaftlicher Kontexte bei der Gestaltung, Nutzung respektive Aneignung von Raum, als auch für die Rolle der Raumgestaltung als gesellschaftliches Phänomen zu vertiefen und zu vermitteln.

Das Forschungsverständnis des Fachbereichs Soziologie baut auf folgenden Eckpfeilern auf:

  • Interdisziplinarität: projekt- und themenbezogene Integration verschiedener Wissensdisziplinen (im Fachbereich sind dies Soziologie, Ökonomie, Stadtplanung, Geographie und Ethnologie)
  • Multimethodensansatz: Anwendung unterschiedlicher Methoden quantitativer und qualitativer empirischer Sozialforschung sowie deren Integration in Mixed-Methods-Designs
  • Transdisziplinarität: Ausgangspunkt der Forschung sind lebensweltliche, gesellschaftliche Problemstellungen, welche über die systematische Verbindung von „wissenschaftlichem“ und „praktischem“ Wissen bearbeitet werden.

Die raumbezogene Forschung des Fachbereichs Soziologie konzentriert sich derzeit auf folgende Themenfelder:

A) Soziale Ungleichheit
B) Soziale Stadt(teil)entwicklung
C) Governance
D) Technik und Gesellschaft

Der Fachbereich Soziologie im Forschungsportal der TU Wien