Urban Renewal, Neighborhood Management

Similar to inhabitants and users, urban and functional structures of a neighborhood/ a city age over time. Socio-cultural and economic changes further influence the character of a neighborhood, calling for a constant renewal of urban areas and settlements.
All renewal activities touch upon the daily lives and routines (‘Lebenswelten’) of inhabitants and users, each of them affected differently by changes along their specific and diverse demands and interests. Urban renewal thus is a field of planning with particular social responsibility.
Our work in this field focuses on a differentiated socio-spatial analysis of the networks and interdependencies of dynamically changing daily lives and routines (‘Lebenswelten’) and ageing urban and functional structures. The aim of our activities in urban renewal and neighborhood management is the development and implementation of participatory renewal strategies and socially oriented neighborhood management processes.

Socially Oriented Urban and Neighborhood Development

Urban development is subject to tensions between economic and technical possibilities on the one hand, and differentiated social and societal demands and opportunities for action. Research activities in this field are explicitly based on concepts and methodologies of social science, sociology and sociology of space. Analyzing the effects of changes to the spatial and functional setup of social structures, and processes of inclusion and exclusion and life quality of social groups is at the core of our activities. A critical reflection of the planning concepts, patterns of action and collaboration is essential.

Collaborative Planning

in preparation

Housing

in preparation

Participation

in preparation

Stadterneuerung, Stadtteilmanagement

Wie auch Bewohner_innen und Nutzer_innen „altern“ die städtebaulichen und funktionalen Strukturen des Siedlungsbestandes. Diese sind zudem sozio-kulturellen wie auch ökonomischen Umwertungstendenzen unterworfen. Entsprechend müssen Siedlungsräume kontinuierlich „repariert“ resp. erneuert werden.

Erneuernde Eingriffe in den städtebaulich-funktionalen Bestand berühren dabei stets unmittelbar die Lebenswelten der Bewohner_innen und Nutzer_innen, die aufgrund ihrer spezifischen und vielfältigen Anforderungen und Interessenlagen in je unterschiedlicher Art und Weise von den Veränderungen betroffen sind. Insofern stellt die Stadterneuerung ein planerisches Handlungsfeld mit besonderer sozialer Verantwortung dar.

Entsprechend fokussieren die Arbeiten im Themenfeld insbesondere auf die differenzierte sozialräumliche Analyse der Verflechtungen und Wechselwirkungen zwischen dynamisch sich verändernden Lebenswelten im und den „Alterungsprozessen“ der städtebauliche Strukturen und Funktionen im Siedlungsbestand, und zielen auf die Entwicklung partizipativer Erneuerungsstrategien und sozial-orientierter Managementverfahren.

Soziale Stadtentwicklung

Stadtentwicklung steht stets im Spannungsfeld technischer und ökonomischer Machbarkeiten und höchst differenzierten sozialen wie auch gesellschaftlichen Anforderungen und Handlungsmöglichkeiten. Die Forschungen in diesem Themenfeld basieren explizit auf soziologischen, gesellschaftswissenschaftlichen und raumsoziologischen Wissensgrundlagen und Methodologien, und fokussieren auf die Analyse der Effekte räumlich-funktionaler Eingriffe auf soziale Strukturen, Prozesse der Inklusion/ Exklusion sowie die Lebensqualität von sozialen Gruppen und die kritische Reflexion der zugrundeliegenden planerischen Konzepte, Handlungsmuster wie auch der Strukturen der Kollaboration.

Kollaborative Planungsprozesse

Text bald verfügbar!

Wohnen, Wohnbau

Text bald verfügbar!

Partizipation

Text bald verfügbar!